Fantasy Sports: “The Masters” Style

By: Coby Evers, proud member of The #Wolfpack

 

Fantasy sports has swept the world over the past decade. Not only for monetary reasons, but for entertainment and other things as well.

fantasy-sports-wizard-25934913

Why is this?

  1. People love being in control . There is just something special about getting to pick your own team, setting up your own line up every game, and basking in the glory of winning or crying your eyes out when you lose. You are the coach. You are the general manager. You are in control.
  2. People love feeling like they belong. There is just something special about being apart of a league that is all enjoying the same thing. It brings a sense of communitas within the league, since everyone shares highs, lows, excitements, and disappointments.
  3. It makes it more fun to watch the sporting events. When you have a reason to root for a person or team, it makes it more personal. It can be the catalyst for actually caring about athletes and teams that you might otherwise not care about at all.

I am personally one who loves fantasy sports. Football, baseball, basketball, hockey, premier league soccer, and anything else you could possibly think of. My group of friends share my love for fantasy sports, which leads to entertaining, competitive, and serious seasons. I would not call myself an avid golf fan. I follow the Majors, but that is about it. However, when one of my roommates brought up the idea of a “fantasy Masters draft,” I was intrigued. 4 of my roommates and myself decided to implement our own fantasy league for just The Masters tournament.

Format 

We decided on a snake draft, where each person’s team would consist of 4 golfers each. We would then take the total scores of each golfer after all 4 days. If one of our golfers missed the cut, we would double their score to even out the days. Whoever’s cohort of golfers had the accumulative low score, would win. We decided to have a $20 buy-in for this intense fantasy league.

How we picked Draft Order 

It was the night of the NCAA Men’s Basketball Championship game when we decided to make this happen. It was halftime and we wanted to think of a clever way to come up with the draft order. Therefore, we each picked what we thought the total score at the end of the game would be. The draft order would be in the order of who’s scores are closest to the final score. Who do you think got first? That’s right. Yours truly.

How it went down 

I had 3 days to wrestle around in my mind about who I was going to take with the 1st overall pick. Spieth. No, Day. Spieth. Day. What about Adam Scott? Rickie Fowler. No, not him. Day. Spieth. Day. But at the end of the day, we all knew who I was gonna take: Spieth. So, I took Jordan with my first pick. My next picks were the number 10 and 11. My mind never took a rest from analyzing Luckily, Phil Mickelson fell in my lap at 10 and I took Hideki Matsuyama at 11. I also had the final pick of the draft at 20. After much contemplation, I selected Brandt Snedeker. After the stressful draft by the fire, everyone thought they had the best team. However, I knew what the others didn’t: I was going to win. And . . . I was right. After the first day with Jordan killing it and my other 3 still below par, I was far in the lead. Although Phil choked day 2 and missed the cut, each person had 1 player miss the cut, and Phil had the best score out of those. It was over. They didn’t have a prayer. I was THE GOLF MASTER.

Conclusion

As I played, I enjoyed it a lot. Not only because I won money and bragging rights, but because my thoughts reflected those first 3 points discussed above. I found myself checking my phone for score updates constantly and being glued to the TV when I was home. Usually, that would be normal when it comes to sports. However, I don’t really follow golf. Therefore, being in the “fantasy league” for the weekend was the impetus for me caring. It is a great example of how fantasy sports amplifies people’s avidity and passion; even when they usually wouldn’t care.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

