SCHIAVONE WINS BOGOTA FINAL; REACHES MILESTONE

Screen Shot 2017-04-16 at 10.10.51 AM.pngIn what turned out to be a very pleasant week of tennis despite the altitude in Bogota, the 36 year-old Italian veteran, Francesca Schiavone, ended the week by defeating Lara Arruabarrena 6-4, 7-5 in the final. This victory was Schiavone’s 8th career title. Most notably, this marked the 2010 Roland Garros Champion’s 600th career victory on tour.

This was a memorable victory according to the Italian native, “In this moment I have memories of my championship in Roland Garros…I have always had very good performances on clay. It was too long since I won a title and I am very pleased to win again. It was a very good tournament for me here in Bogota. I felt very excited to be playing my game.”

Reaching the 600 career wins milestone puts in perspective the sustained success Schiavone has enjoyed throughout her career. Only the likes of the Williams sisters are fortunate enough to join the “700 club”. Schiavone offered a little more on her achievement saying she has no plans of slowing down any-time soon “I’m not thinking about retirement, I’m enjoying tennis.”

With Bogota in the books, we now turn our attention to Asia for next week’s WTA tournament in Zhengzhou, China. Germany’s Porsche Grand Prix tournament in Stuttgart will follow. Will all due respect to these tournaments, Roland Garros looms as the main prize as the clay season begins to heat up.

Leave a Reply

