Watching the Astros through the eyes of a Padres fan

As a sport loving person and being born and raised in Texas, some people might question why I am a San Diego Padres baseball fan instead of a Texas based team.

My answer is simple; my first MLB game was in San Diego, CA and it was against the Rangers. Funny coincidence, right?

When you plan a trip to Disneyland and you’re driving there from El Paso, TX you can make stops along the way. Any chance we got to stop in San Diego, I wanted to take it.  So on one trip to Disneyland, we had taken up the opportunity to go to a Rangers game that was “near us”. My aunt and uncle are Rangers fans, I was maybe around 14 years old at the time. Anyways, it was my first MLB game and I wasn’t sold on being a Rangers fan much like the rest of my family. Once I saw the Padres stadium and field and the game; it just clicked in me.

I HAD TO BE A PART OF THIS.

The Padres got lucky, being it was my first ever MLB game, they had that lucky break.

Now, I had this challenge of not only keeping up on wins and losses for my Padres, but for the Houston Astros. As per my assignment; I kept up to date (or tried my best to) on the Astros standing and how the fans engage with the team. All this thru social media. I am not going to lie, it was a little hard because I have no interest in the Astros. It was weird for me to tell myself to check their stats and find out if they play today; if they lost a game did they win the series? All the normal stuff I would ask about my Padres.

Coming to the end of this assignment, I kind of feel more involved with the sport in general. It is not enough to just know about my team and their standings. I started to question other teams and how they’re doing compared to mine. World Series is always at the end of the road, how is every teams standings effect the Padres chances?

By Sara Maria Lopez

Leave a Reply

